What Are The Food Groups

The Five Main Food Groups Healthy Eating

Food is crucial for our bodies because it provides us with the energy we need for our everyday activities, such as playing, studying, spending time with our loved ones, etc. Despite the fact that there are several meals from which we may pick, the reality is that they are not all created equal, meaning that each one of them gives our bodies varied nutrients. In this article, we explain what the dietary types are and how important they are to your health.

As the MyPlate icon shows, the five food groups are Fruits, Vegetables, Grains, Protein Foods, and Dairy. The 2015-2020 Dietary Guidelines for Americans emphasizes the importance of an overall healthy eating pattern with all five groups as key building blocks, plus oils.

Animal source foods

Animal products are included in one of the seven food categories, which is the category that includes meat and poultry. Among them are the many types of meat that are available (chicken, beef, pork, etc.). In order to maintain strength and a more resistant immune system, it is vital to consume it regularly.

Dairy products

In addition to providing our bodies with the proteins they need, dairy products such as milk, cheese, butter, and yoghurt also give calcium, which helps develop and preserve bones.


Besides providing us with energy, this group of meals also helps in the absorption of fat-soluble vitamins such as vitamins A, D, E, and K. This category of foods is essential in our diet because it provides us with energy and also aids in the absorption of fat-soluble vitamins such as vitamin K. It is recommended, however, that they be used in moderation. Avocados, olive oil, almonds, fish fat, and dairy products are just a few of the fats that are considered healthful.

Cereals, tubers and legumes

Fiber, vitamins, and minerals are all found in this category of foods in addition to providing us with energy. We may maintain our strength, manage our intestinal transit, and get key vitamins for focus as a result of our eating.


They include vitamins and minerals that aid in the maintenance of our immune system and fibre that aids in the prevention of constipation, which is beneficial. Aim for at least two or three servings of various fruits every day, depending on our weight and lifestyle.


They are a good source of vitamins, minerals, and fibre, much like fruits. Eat at least 3 servings of veggies every day, preferably in a variety of hues, to maintain good health and offer our bodies a diverse range of nutrients.


The intake of this category provides us with energy throughout the day; nevertheless, we should not overindulge in it. Please keep in mind that an excessive consumption of table sugar may result in tooth damage, excessive weight gain, and even illnesses such as diabetes.

Eat foods from all the food groups to stay healthy!

We should include meals from all food categories in our regular diet, in quantities that are suitable for our age and physical activity level. To maintain a healthy lifestyle, we must engage in physical activity and adequately hydrate ourselves by drinking at least six glasses of water every day!

Also, Read : How Can CBD Gummies Help You in Sleep While You Are Travelling

Fun Fact

What are the 4 main food groups?

There are 4 main food groups to eat from every day to get the nutrients you need for your physical and mental health. These are vegetables and fruit, grain foods, milk and milk products, and protein foods.

Kelly W
Kelly W
Dream big, play hard, take the wins and embrace the losses.
Stay Connected

Read On