When You Look At The Food Pyramid

Food Pyramid, There Are 8 Types Of Foods That Go Together.

A healthy diet must include a wide range of foods. This is because the meals we eat on a daily basis must deliver critical nutrients for our bodies to operate properly. In addition to being beneficial in the prevention of illness.

The Food Pyramid is one of the tools you may use to help you maintain healthy eating habits. In this article, we’ll go through how it was made and what each of the eight sorts of food in the chart means.

8 food groups from the food pyramid

Food Pyramid experts recommend a daily calorie intake of 2000 kcal, divided into six meals (breakfast, lunch and dinner, and intermediate snacks).

6 parts of carbs, 3 portions of vegetables, 3 portions of fruits, 1 portion of beans and oilseeds, 3 portions of dairy products, 1 portion of meats and eggs, 1 portion of oils and fats, and 1 portion of sugars and sweets are the recommended categories.

Cereals, breads, and root vegetables (carbs)

It is the pyramid’s biggest food category and is located at the bottom. They are high in carbs and are found in wholemeal flour, oatmeal, bread, rice, sweet potatoes, and other foods. They are prioritised for ingestion since they are sources of energy for the body’s functioning. They’re also high in fibre and vitamins B and C.

Vegetables and fruits are included in this category.

This is where veggies and greens come into play, foods that give the body with nutrients, fibre, and vitamins. They are necessary for the efficient functioning of the metabolism. Irregular intake may lead to deficiency conditions, which can be harmful to your health. Kale, cabbage, broccoli, zucchini, beets, carrots, and other vegetables are among the items in group 2.


Vitamins, fibre, and minerals are all found in abundance in fruits. When ingested, the fructose or sugar in the fruit may swiftly raise blood sugar levels. Pineapple, banana, acerola, cashew, apple, orange, and other fruits and vegetables that belong in group 3 are examples.

Milk and its by-products

This category, which is in the centre of the graph, contains calcium-rich meals necessary for bone and tooth growth. Furthermore, these foods are high in protein, with milk, cheese, and yoghurt being among them.

Meat and eggs

It’s also at the centre of the pyramid, with animal-based proteins. Iron, vitamin B6, and vitamin B12, which help prevent anaemia, are included in this category. Meat, poultry, fish, and eggs are among them.

Legumes and oilseeds

This category includes meals that are high in plant-based proteins and help to fill in the gaps in the graph’s centre section. They’re high in fibre as well. Soybeans, lentils, beans, chickpeas, chestnuts, and a variety of other legumes are examples.

Fats and oils

They are the apex of the pyramid, and their intake must be regulated. They are meals that provide you energy while also transporting B vitamins throughout your body. Olive oil, soy oil, and butter are just a few examples of calorie-dense oils.

Sweets and sugars

Foods that should be eaten in moderation are also towards the top of the pyramid. They are high in simple carbs, lack fibre, and are deficient in nutrients. Sugar, chocolate, ice cream, honey, cake, and other delicacies are all included in this category.

Also, Read : Top Things to Know Before You Travel to Australia

Fun Fact

What is the Food Pyramid in order?

Reference Food Pyramid. There are six categories in the Food Pyramid: the bread, cereal, rice, and pasta group (grains), the fruit group, the vegetable group, the meat, poultry, fish, dry beans, eggs, and nuts group (protein), the milk, yogurt, and cheese group (dairy), and the fats, oils, and sweets group.

Kelly W
Kelly W
Dream big, play hard, take the wins and embrace the losses.
Stay Connected

Read On