spot_img

Top 5 Best Books like Persuasion

Persuasion

The plot centers on 27-year-old Englishwoman Anne Elliot, whose family relocates in order to save costs and pay off debt by renting their house to an admiral and his wife. Captain Frederick Wentworth, the wife’s brother, was betrothed to Anne in 1806, but the union was dissolved when Anne decided to quit their relationship after being urged to do so by her friends and family. After a seven-year absence, Captain Wentworth and Anne, both single and unmarried, reunite, setting the stage for many amusing interactions as well as Anne’s second, thoughtful attempt at love and marriage.

Author: Jane Austen

Here are our personal top picks of other good romance books like Persuasion that will surely get you hooked. Hope you’ll find a good fit to your taste!

(1)Greatest Works of Oscar Wilde

The clever and multifaceted Oscar Wilde authored a lot, including criticism, essays, reviews, novels, poetry, short tales, plays, and even children’s literature. Two of his masterpieces—works that brought him praise and cemented his reputation as a writer—can be found among all of these. The Importance of Being Earnest, a play that has been revived numerous times and adapted for radio, television, film, operas, and musicals, and The Picture of Dorian Gray, Wilde’s sole novel that became his most-read and well-known work, are both included in this lovely hardbound edition with gilded edges and lovely endpapers.

Author: Oscar Wilde

 

(2)1984

Winston Smith follows Party directives and changes the course of history to appease the Ministry of Truth. Winston develops a hatred for the Party that seeks power for its own sake and persecutes anyone who dare to commit thoughtcrimes with each falsehood he writes. Winston, however, is forced to face the fact that Big Brother is constantly monitoring as he begins to think for himself.

Author: George Orwell

 

(3)Pride and Prejudice

Few people haven’t been won over by Elizabeth Bennet’s clever and self-reliant personality in Pride and Prejudice, one of Austen’s most well-known works. Fitzwilliam Darcy is an eligible bachelor, but Elizabeth Bennet finds him haughty and pompous; he doesn’t seem to care about her attractiveness or her sharp mind. Later, she learns that Darcy has become embroiled in the tumultuous union of his friend Bingley and her adored sister Jane, and she is determined to despise him even more. In the delightful comedy of manners that follows, Jane Austen expertly captures the friendships, gossip, and snobbery of rural middle-class life and exposes the fallacy of making snap judgments.

Author: Jane Austen

 

(4) Sense and Sensibility

Jane Austen wrote the book Sense and Sensibility, which was first released in 1811. The title page, which usually has the author’s name, has By A Lady instead because it was published under an assumed name. It chronicles the development of the Dashwood sisters, Elinor (age 19) and Marianne (age 16 1/2). John, their elder, frugal half-brother, and Margaret, their younger sister,

Author: Jane Austen

 

(5) Mr. Mercedes

In a struggling American city, a stolen Mercedes emerges from the morning fog and rams into a gathering of people waiting in line for a job fair. The single driver then reverses, re-charges, and races away, leaving eight people dead and more injured. When ex-cop Bill Hodges receives a letter from a man who enjoyed the sensation of death beneath the Mercedes’ wheels, the case remains unresolved, and Hodges has given up hope.

Author: Stephen King

 

Best Books to Read Like Persuasion

That was fast! I hope the above books give you the excitement to grab the book of your choice. If you find Persuasion interesting, the other four books will provide the same thrill!

Let us know how you feel. Write your comments below on books that you have enjoyed similar to Persuasion

Previous Featured Books: Top 5 Best Books like Along for the Ride

More Books: Top 5 Best Books like The Iron Knight

spot_img
spot_img
Stay Connected
41,936FansLike
5,721FollowersFollow
739FollowersFollow

Read On

spot_img
spot_img

Latest