Rumer Godden Body of Works – Oeuvre

List of books by Rumer Godden

List of Books by Rumer Godden with Publication Dates

Authors, who doesn’t love a good Author? This series of articles we look at lists of books by famous authors; in this case, Rumer Godden Wilson. Find my selection in date order of Rumer Godden

Rumer Godden List of Books to Read

Standalone Novels

Black Narcissus       (1939)          

The River      (1946)          

A Candle for St Jude          (1948)          

A Breath of Air        (1950)          

The Mousewife       (1951)          

Breakfast with the Nikoalides     (1952)          

Mouse House          (1952)          

Impunity Jane         (1954)          

The Episode of Sparrows (1956)          

The Fairy Doll          (1956)          

The Greengage Summer  (1958)          

The Story of Holly and Ivy           (1958)          

Kingfishers Catch Fire       (1959)          

Candy Floss  (1960)          

China Court  (1961)          

Saint Jerome and the Lion           (1961)          

Thus Far and No Further  (1961)          

Doll’s House (1962)          

The Battle of the Villa Fiorita       (1963)          

Little Plum    (1963)          

Home Is the Sailor  (1964)          

Gypsy, Gypsy          (1965)          

Two Under the Indian Sun          (1966)          

The Kitchen Madonna      (1967)          

Fugue in Time          (1969)          

In This House of Brede      (1969)          

Lady and the Unicorn       (1969)          

Operation Sippacik            (1969)          

Miss Happiness and Miss Flower           (1971)          

The Old Woman Who Lived in a Vinegar Bottle        (1972)          

The Diddakoi           (1972)          

Mr McFadden’s Halloween         (1975)          

The Peacock Spring           (1975)          

The Rocking Horse Secret            (1977)          

Butterfly Lions         (1977)          

A Kindle of Kittens  (1978)          

Five for Sorrow, Ten for Joy       (1979)          

Take Three Tenses (1980)          

Gulbadan      (1980)          

The Dark Horse       (1981)          

The Dragon of Og  (1981)          

The Valiant Chatti-Maker (1983)          

Four Dolls     (1983)          

Tottie (1983)          

Thursday’s Children           (1984)          

The Tale of the Tales          (1985)          

Fu-Dog          (1989)          

Coromandel Sea Change  (1991)          

Great Grandfather’s House         (1992)          

Listen to the Nightingale  (1992)          

Pippa Passes            (1994)          

The Little Chair        (1996)          

Premlata and the Festival of Lights       (1996)          

Cockcrow to Starlight       (1996)          

Cromartie V the God Shiva          (1997)          

Gypsy Girl     (2002)


Mooltiki, and other stories and poems of India        (1957)          

Mrs Manders’ Cook Book            (1968)          

Candy Floss and Impunity Jane  (1975)          

Mouse Time: Two Stories            (1984)          

Indian Dust  (1989)          

Mercy, Pity, Peace, and Love     (1990)          

A Pocket Book of Spiritual Poems         (1996)          

The Fairy Doll and Other Tales from the Doll’s House         (2012)

Non-Fiction Books


Hans Christian Andersen  (1970)          

Raphael Bible           (1970)          

A Time to Dance, No Time to Weep      (1987)          

A House with Four Rooms           (1989)

List of books by Rumer Godden

So there you have a list of books and date of publication from the Author Rumer Godden. If we missed any be sure to let us know in comments of via the Contact Us.

Dave Peterson

Dave Peterson Passion for adventure and sharing his life long journey with as many others as possible. "What lies behind us and what lies before us are tiny matters compared to what lies within us." HENRY S. HASKINS

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *