Patrick O’Brian Body of Works – Oeuvre

List of books by Patrick O’Brian

List of Books by Patrick O’Brian with Publication Dates

Authors, who doesn’t love a good Author? This series of articles we look at lists of books by famous authors; in this case, Viola Carr. Find my selection in date order of Patrick O’Brian’s novels.

Patrick O’Brian List of Books to Read

Aubrey/Maturin Books

Master and Commander  (1969)          

Post Captain            (1972)          

HMS Surprise          (1973)          

The Maritius Command    (1977)          

Desolation Island    (1978)          

The Fortune of War           (1979)          

The Surgeon’s Mate          (1980)          

The Ionian Mission (1981)          

Treason’s Harbour (1983)          

The Far Side of the World            (1984)          

The Reverse of the Medal            (1986)          

The Letter of Marque        (1988)          

The Thirteen-Gun Salute  (1989)          

The Nutmeg of Consolation        (1991)          

The Truelove           (1992)          

The Wine-Dark Sea            (1993)          

The Commodore    (1994)          

The Yellow Admiral            (1996)          

The Hundred Days (1998)          

Blue at the Mizzen (1999)          

21: The Final Unfinished Voyage of Jack Aubrey      (2004)          

Standalone Novels

Caesar           (1930)          

Hussein, An Entertainment         (1938)          

Testimonies  (1952)          

The Catalans            (1953)          

The Road to Samarcand   (1954)          

The Golden Ocean (1956)          

The Unknown Shore         (1959)          

Richard Temple       (1962)          


The Chian Wine      (1974)          

Collected Short Stories     (1994)          

The Rendezvous     (1994)          

No Pirates Nowadays and Other Stories         (2015)          

Beasts Royal: Twelve Tales of Adventure        (2015)          

The Uncertain Land and Other Poems (2019)          

Non-Fiction Books

Men-of-War            (1974)          

Pablo Ruiz Picasso  (1976)          

Joseph Banks           (1993)                                  

List of books by Patrick O’Brian

So there you have a list of books and date of publication from the Author Patrick O’Brian. If we missed any be sure to let us know in comments of via the Contact Us.

Dave Peterson

Dave Peterson Passion for adventure and sharing his life long journey with as many others as possible. "What lies behind us and what lies before us are tiny matters compared to what lies within us." HENRY S. HASKINS

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *