Nigel Tranter Body of Works – Oeuvre

List of books by Nigel Tranter

List of Books by Nigel Tranter with Publication Dates

Authors, who doesn’t love a good Author? This series of articles we look at lists of books by famous authors; in this case, Nigel Tranter. Find my selection in date order of Nigel Tranter’s novels.

Nigel Tranter List of Books to Read

MacGregor Trilogy Books

MacGregor’s Gathering    (1957)          

The Clansman          (1959)          

Gold For Prince Charlie    (1962)          

Master Of Gray Trilogy Books

Lord and Master     (1961)          

The Courtesan         (1963)          

Past Master  (1965)          

Bruce Trilogy Books

The Steps To The Empty Throne            (1969)          

The Path of the Hero King           (1970)          

The Price of the King’s Peace      (1971)          

Montrose Books

The Young Montrose        (1972)          

Montrose, The Captain-General            (1973)          

House Of Stewart Trilogy Books

Lords of Misrule     (1976)          

A Folly of Princes    (1977)          

The Captive Crown            (1977)          

James V Trilogy Books

The Riven Realm     (1984)          

James By the Grace of God         (1985)          

Rough Wooing        (1986)          

Mary Stewart Trilogy Books

Price of a Princess  (1994)          

Lord in Waiting       (1994)          

Standalone Novels

Trespass        (1937)          

Mammon’s Daughter        (1939)          

Harsh Heritage        (1940)          

Eagle’s Feathers      (1941)          

Watershed   (1941)          

The Gilded Fleece   (1942)          

Delayed Action       (1944)          

Tinker’s Pride          (1945)          

Flight of Dutchmen            (1946)          

Island Twilight         (1947)          

Man’s Estate            (1947)          

Colours Flying         (1948)          

Root and Branch    (1948)          

The Stone     (1948)          

The Chosen Course            (1949)          

Fair Game     (1950)          

The Freebooters     (1950)          

High Spirits   (1950)          

Fast and Loose        (1951)          

Tidewrack    (1951)          

Bridal Path   (1952)          

Cheviot Chase         (1952)          

Ducks and Drakes  (1953)          

The Queen’s Grace            (1953)          

The Night Riders     (1954)          

Rum Week   (1954)          

Rio d’Oro      (1955)          

There Are Worse Jungles (1955)          

The Long Coffin      (1956)          

The Enduring Flame          (1957)          

Balefire          (1958)          

Spaniards’ Isle         (1958)          

The Man Behind the Curtain       (1959)          

The Flockmasters   (1960)          

Nestor the Monster           (1960)          

Spanish Galleon      (1960)          

Birds of a Feather   (1961)          

The Deer Poachers            (1961)          

Kettle of Fish            (1961)          

Drug on the Market          (1962)          

Something Very Fishy       (1962)          

Give a Dog a Bad Name    (1963)          

Chain of Destiny     (1964)          

Silver Island (1964)          

Pursuit           (1965)          

Stake in the Kingdom        (1966)          

Cable From Kabul   (1967)          

Fire and High Water          (1967)          

Lion Let Loose         (1967)          

Tinker Tess   (1967)          

Black Douglas          (1968)          

To the Rescue          (1968)          

The Wisest Fool      (1974)          

The Wallace (1975)          

Border Riding          (1977)          

Macbeth The King  (1978)          

Margaret The Queen        (1979)          

David The Prince    (1980)          

True Thomas           (1981)          

The Patriot   (1982)          

Lord of the Isles      (1983)          

Unicorn Rampant   (1984)          

Columba       (1987)          

Flowers of Chivalry            (1988)          

Mail Royal    (1989)          

Warden of the Queen’s March  (1989)          

Kenneth        (1990)          

Crusader       (1991)          

Children of the Mist           (1992)          

Druid Sacrifice        (1993)          

Tapestry of the Boar         (1993)          

Highness in Hiding (1995)          

Honours Even         (1995)          

A Rage of Regents  (1996)          

Poetic Justice           (1996)          

The Marchman       (1997)          

The Lion’s Whelp    (1997)          

High Kings and Vikings      (1998)          

A Flame for the Fire           (1998)          

Sword of State        (1999)          

Envoy Extraordinary         (1999)          

Courting Favour     (2000)          

The End of the Line            (2000)          

The Admiral (2001)          

Triple Alliance          (2001)          

The Islesman            (2003)          

Right Royal Friend  (2003)          

Marie and Mary     (2004)          

Hope Endures         (2005)          

Fortified House In Scotland Non-Fiction Books

The Fortified House in Scotland (1962)          

The Fortified House in Scotland, Volume I      (1962)          

The Fortified House in Scotland, Volume II    (1963)          

The Fortified House in Scotland, Volume III   (1965)          

The Fortified House in Scotland, Volume IV   (1966)          

The Fortified House in Scotland, Volume V    (1970)          

Queen’s Scotland Non-Fiction Books

The Heartland         (1971)          

The Eastern Counties        (1972)          

The Northeast         (1974)          

Argyll and Bute       (1977)          

Non-Fiction Books

The Fortalices and Early Mansions of Southern Scotland, 1400-1650   (1935)          

Pegasus Book of Scotland            (1964)          

Outlaw of the Highlands: Rob Roy        (1965)          

Land of the Scots    (1968)          

Portrait of the Border Country  (1972)          

Portrait of the Lothians    (1979)          

Nigel Tranter’s Scotland   (1981)          

Scottish Castles: Tales and Traditions   (1982)          

Travellers’ Guide to the Land of Robert the Bruce    (1985)          

The Story of Scotland       (1987)          

Footbridge to Enchantment        (1992)          

More Tales and Traditions of Scottish Castles            (1997)                                              

List of books by Nigel Tranter

So there you have a list of books and date of publication from the Author Nigel Tranter. If we missed any be sure to let us know in comments of via the Contact Us.

Dave Peterson

Dave Peterson Passion for adventure and sharing his life long journey with as many others as possible. "What lies behind us and what lies before us are tiny matters compared to what lies within us." HENRY S. HASKINS

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *