Miss Read Body of Works – Oeuvre

List of books by Miss Read

List of Books by Miss Read with Publication Dates

Authors, who doesn’t love a good Author? This series of articles we look at lists of books by famous authors; in this case, Miss Read. Find my selection in date order of Miss Read’s novels.

Miss Read List of Books to Read

Fairacre Books

Village School          (1955)          

Village Diary            (1957)          

Storm in the Vilage            (1958)          

Miss Clare Remembers     (1962)          

Over the Gate         (1964)          

Village Christmas    (1966)          

Emily Davis   (1971)          

The Fairacre Festival         (1968)          

Tyler’s Row  (1972)          

The Christmas Mouse       (1973)          

Farther Afield          (1974)          

No Holly for Miss Quinn   (1976)          

Village Affairs          (1977)          

The White Robin     (1979)          

Village Centenary   (1980)          

Summer at Fairacre           (1984)          

Mrs. Pringle of Fairacle    (1989)          

Changes at Fairacre           (1991)          

Farewell to Fairacre          (1993)          

A Peaceful Retirement      (1996)          

Fairacre Collections

Tales from a Village School          (1994)          

Thrush Green Books


Thrush Green          (1959)          

Winter in Thrush Green   (1961)          

News from Thrush Green            (1970)          

Battles at Thrush Green    (1975)          

Return to Thrush Green   (1978)          

Gossip from Thrush Green          (1981)          

Affairs at Thrush Green    (1983)          

At Home in Thrush Green            (1985)          

The School at Thrush Green        (1987)          

Friends at Thrush Green  (1990)          

Celebration at Thrush Green      (1992)          

The Year at Thrush Green            (1995)          

Christmas at Thrush Green          (2009)          

Thrush Green Non-Fiction Books

The World of Thrush Green        (1988)          

Caxley Chronicles Books

The Market Square            (1966)          

The Howards of Caxley     (1967)          

Standalone Novels

Fresh from the Country   (1955)          

Hobby Horse Cottage       (1958)          

The New Bed           (1964)          

Plum Pie        (1964)          

Cluck, the Little Black Hen           (1965)          

The Little Peg Doll  (1965)          

Tiggy  (1971)          

Hob and the Horse Bat     (1974)          

Animal Boy   (1975)          

Short Story Collections

The Little Red Bus and Other Rhyming Stories           (1991)          

Miss Read’s Christmas Book        (1992)          

A Country Christmas         (2006)          


Non-Fiction Books

Country Cooking    (1969)          

Fortunate Grandchild       (1982)          

Time Remembered            (1986)          

The English Vicarage Garden      (1988)          

Mrs. Griffin Sends Her Love and Other Writings      (2013)                                  

List of books by Miss Read

So there you have a list of books and date of publication from the Author Miss Read. If we missed any be sure to let us know in comments of via the Contact Us.

Dave Peterson

Dave Peterson Passion for adventure and sharing his life long journey with as many others as possible. "What lies behind us and what lies before us are tiny matters compared to what lies within us." HENRY S. HASKINS

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *