Michael Innes Body of Works – Oeuvre

List of books by Michael Innes

List of Books by Michael Innes with Publication Dates

Authors, who doesn’t love a good Author? This series of articles we look at lists of books by famous authors; in this case, Michael Innes. Find my selection in date order of Michael Innes’s novels.

Michael Innes List of Books to Read

Inspector Appleby Books

Death at the President’s Lodging           (1936)          

Hamlet, Revenge!  (1937)          

Lament for a Maker          (1938)          

Stop Press    (1939)          

The Secret Vanguard        (1940)          

There Came Both Mist and Snow          (1940)          

Appleby on Ararat (1941)          

The Daffodil Affair (1942)          

The Weight of the Evidence        (1943)          

Appleby’s End         (1945)          

A Night of Errors    (1947)          

Operation Pax         (1951)          

A Private View        (1952)          

Appleby Plays Chicken      (1957)          

The Long Farewell  (1958)          

Hare Sitting Up       (1959)          

Silence Observed   (1961)          

A Connoisseur’s Case        (1962)          

The Bloody Wood  (1966)          

Appleby at Allington          (1968)          

A Family Affair        (1969)          

Death at the Chase            (1970)          

An Awkward Lie     (1971)          

The Open House     (1972)          

Appleby’s Answer  (1973)          

Appleby’s Other Story      (1974)          

The Gay Phoenix    (1976)          

The Ampersand Papers    (1978)          

Sheiks and Adders (1982)          

Appleby and Honeybath  (1983)          

Carson’s Conspiracy          (1984)          

Appleby and the Ospreys            (1986)          

Inspector Appleby Collections

Appleby Talking      (1954)          

Appleby Talks Again          (1956)          

The Appleby File     (1975)          

Appleby Talks About Crime         (2010)          

Charles Honeybath Books

The Mysterious Commission       (1974)          

Honeybath’s Haven           (1977)          

Lord Mullion’s Secret        (1981)          

Staircase In Surrey Books

The Gaudy    (1974)          

Young Patullo          (1975)          

Memorial Service   (1976)          

The Madonna of the Astrolabe  (1977)          

Full Term      (1978)          

Staircase In Surrey Books

Young Patullo          (1975)          

The Gaudy    (1974)          

Memorial Service   (1976)          

The Madonna of the Astrolabe  (1977)          

Full Term      (1978)          

Standalone Novels

What Happened at Hazelwood  (1946)          

From London Far   (1946)          

The Journeying Boy           (1949)          

Christmas at Candleshoe  (1953)          

Mark Lambert’s Supper   (1954)          

The Man from the Sea      (1955)          

The Guardians         (1955)          

Old Hall, New Hall  (1956)          

A Use of Riches       (1957)          

The New Sonia Wayward            (1960)          

The Man Who Won the Pools    (1961)          

The Last Tresilians  (1963)          

Money from Holme           (1964)          

An Acre of Grass     (1965)          

A Change of Heir    (1966)          

The Aylwins (1966)          

Vanderlyn’s Kingdom        (1967)          

Avery’s Mission       (1971)          

A Palace of Art        (1972)          

Mungo’s Dream      (1973)          

Going It Alone         (1980)          

Andrew and Tobias           (1980)          

A Villa in France      (1982)          

An Open Prison      (1984)          

The Naylors  (1985)          

Short Story Collections

The Man Who Wrote Detective Stories           (1959)          

Cucumber Sandwiches     (1969)          

Our England is a Garden  (1979)          

The Bridge at Arta  (1981)          

My Aunt Christina and Other Stories   (1983)          

Parlour Four and Other Stories (1984)          

Non-Fiction Books

Educating the Emotions   (1944)          

Character and Motive in Shakespeare (1949)          

James Joyce (1957)          

Eight Modern Writers       (1963)          

Thomas Love Peacock      (1963)          

Rudyard Kipling      (1966)          

Joseph Conrad        (1968)          

Shakespeare’s Lofty Scene          (1971)          

Thomas Hardy: A Critical Biography     (1971)          

Myself and Michael Innes: A Memoir   (1987)                                                                      

List of books by Michael Innes

So there you have a list of books and date of publication from the Author Michael Innes. If we missed any be sure to let us know in comments of via the Contact Us.

Dave Peterson

Dave Peterson Passion for adventure and sharing his life long journey with as many others as possible. "What lies behind us and what lies before us are tiny matters compared to what lies within us." HENRY S. HASKINS

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *