Joe R. Lansdale Body of Works – Oeuvre

List of books by Joe R. Lansdale

List of Books by Joe R. Lansdale with Publication Dates

Authors, who doesn’t love a good Author? This series of articles we look at lists of books by famous authors; in this case, Joe R. Lansdale. Find my selection in date order of Joe R. Lansdale’s novels books.

Joe R. Lansdale List of Books to Read

Drive-In Books

The Drive-In        (1988)   

The Drive-In II: Not Just One of Them Sequels        (1989)   

The Drive-In 3: The Bus Tour         (2013)   

Hap & Leonard Books

Savage Season   (1990)   

Mucho Mojo       (1994)   

The Two-Bear Mambo    (1995)   

Bad Chili              (1997)   

Rumble Tumble  (1998)   

Captains Outrageous       (2001)   

Vanilla Ride         (2009)   

Devil Red             (2011)   

Hyenas  (2011)   

Dead Aim             (2013)   

Briar Patch Boogie           (2016)   

Honky Tonk Samurai        (2016)   

Coco Butternut  (2017)   

Rusty Puppy        (2017)   

Jackrabbit Smile (2018)   

The Elephant of Surprise (2019)   

Hap & Leonard Collections

Veil’s Visit            (1999)   

Hap and Leonard              (2016)   

Blood and Lemonade      (2017)   

Batman Books

Captured by the Engines (1991)   

Terror on the High Skies  (1992)   

Lost Lansdale Books

Waltz of Shadows            (1999)   

Something Lumber This Way Comes          (1999)   

Blood Dance       (2000)   

Ned The Seal Books

Zeppelins West   (2001)   

Flaming London (2005)   

Flaming Zeppelins             (2010)   

Standalone Novels

Act of Love         (1981)   

Dead in the West              (1983)   

The Nightrunners              (1983)   

Texas Night Riders           (1983)   

The Magic Wagon            (1986)   

Cold in July          (1989)   

Tarzan: The Lost Adventure          (1995)   

The Boar              (1998)   

Freezer Burn       (1999)   

The Bottoms       (2000)   

The Big Blow      (2000)   

A Fine Dark Line (2002)   

Bubba Ho-Tep    (2003)   

Sunset and Sawdust         (2004)   

Lost Echoes        (2007)   

Leather Maiden (2008)   

All the Earth, Thrown to the Sky   (2011)   

Edge of Dark Water         (2012)   

Deadman’s Crossing        (2013)   

The Thicket         (2013)   

Paradise Sky        (2015)   

Fender Lizards    (2015)   

Hell’s Bounty      (2016)   

Bubba and the Cosmic Blood-Suckers        (2017)   

Short Stories

The Steel Valentine          (1986)   

Christmas with the Dead (2010)   

Deranged by Choice         (2011)   

Incident On and Off a Mountain Road       (2011)   

Tight Little Stitches in a Dead Man’s Back (2011)   

Steampunked     (2012)   

The Ape Man’s Brother   (2012)   

Bullets and Fire  (2013)   

Hot in December              (2013)   

A Bone Dead Sadness      (2014)   

Black Hat Jack    (2014)   

Hoodoo Harry    (2017)   

Short Story Collections

Stories by Mama Lansdale’s Youngest Boy              (1975)   

The Long Ones   (1985)   

Bestsellers Guaranteed   (1986)   

On the Far Side of the Cadillac Desert with the Dead Folks (1988)   

Tight Little Stitches in a Dead Man’s Back (1988)   

By Bizarre Hands               (1989)   

Electric Gumbo  (1994)   

Writer of the Purple Rage              (1994)   

A Fist Full of Stories (and Articles)               (1996)   

High Cotton: Selected Stories of Joe R. Lansdale   (1997)   

The Good, The Bad and The Indifferent    (1997)   

Private Eye Action As You Like It  (1998)   

Atomic Chili        (1998)   

For a Few Stories More   (2002)   

Bumper Crop      (2004)   

The King and Other Stories            (2004)   

Mad Dog Summer and Other Stories          (2004)   

The Shadows Kith and Kin              (2007)   

The God of the Razor      (2007)   

Sanctified and Chicken-Fried: The Portable Lansdale           (2009)   

Unchained and Unhinged              (2009)   

The Best of Joe R. Lansdale          (2010)   

Deadman’s Road              (2010)   

Horror for Good               (2012)   

Written with a Razor: Short Stories and a Screenplay          (2012)   

Trapped in the Saturday Matinee (2012)   

Bleeding Shadows            (2013)   

The Tall Grass and Other Stories  (2014)   

Graphic Novels

Jonah Hex: Two Gun Mojo            (1994)   

Red Range           (1999)   

On the Far Side of the Cadillac Desert with the Dead Folks (2004)   

The Drive-In        (2006)   

Conan and the Songs of the Dead              (2007)   

Pigeons from Hell             (2009)   

Robert Bloch’s Yours Truly, Jack the Ripper             (2010)   

Robert Bloch’s That Hellbound Train          (2011)   

H.P. Lovecraft’s The Dunwich Horror         (2012)   

Crawling Sky       (2013)   

Jonah Hex: Shadows West            (2012)   

30 Days of Night Graphic Novels

Night, Again        (2011)   

Picture Books

In Waders from Mars      (2012)   


Best of the West               (1986)   

The New Frontier             (1989)   

Razored Saddles               (1989)   

Dark at Heart      (1992)   

Weird Business   (1995)   

The Horror Hall of Fame: The Stoker Winners        (2004)   

Retro Pulp Tales (2006)   

Lords of the Razor            (2006)   

Son of Retro Pulp Tales   (2009)   

Crucified Dreams              (2011)   

The Urban Fantasy Anthology      (2011)   

List of books by Joe R. Lansdale  

So there you have a list of books and date of publication from the Author Joe R. Lansdale. If we missed any be sure to let us know in comments of via the Contact Us.

Dave Peterson

Dave Peterson Passion for adventure and sharing his life long journey with as many others as possible. "What lies behind us and what lies before us are tiny matters compared to what lies within us." HENRY S. HASKINS

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *