James Hadley Chase Body of Works – Oeuvre

List of books by James Hadley Chase

List of Books by James Hadley Chase with Publication Dates

Authors, who doesn’t love a good Author? This series of articles we look at lists of books by famous authors; in this case, James Hadley Chase Wilson. Find my selection in date order of James Hadley Chase books.

James Hadley Chase List of Books to Read

Dave Fenner Books

No Orchids for Miss Blandish       (1939)           

Twelve Chinks and a Woman       (1940)


Vic Malloy Books

You’re Lonely When You’re Dead            (1949)           

Figure It Out for Yourself  (1950)           

Lay Her Among the Lilies   (1950)

Steve Harmas Books

The Double Shuffle (1952)           

There’s Always a Price Tag            (1956)           

Shock Treatment    (1959)           

Tell It to the Birds   (1963)           

An Ear to the Ground         (1968)           

Frank Terrell Books

The Soft Centre       (1964)           

The Way the Cookie Crumbles     (1965)           

Well Now, My Pretty         (1967)           

Believed Violent      (1968)           

There’s a Hippie On the Highway            (1970)           

Mark Girland Books

This Is for Real         (1965)           

You Have Yourself a Deal  (1966)           

Have This One On Me        (1967)           

The Whiff of Money           (1969)

Helga Rolfe Books

An Ace Up My Sleeve         (1971)           

The Joker in the Pack         (1975)           

I Hold the Four Aces           (1977)

Standalone Novels

The Dead Stay Dumb         (1939)           

He Won’t Need It Now      (1939)           

Lady, Here’s Your Wreath (1940)           

Get a Load of This   (1941)           

Miss Callaghan Comes to Grief    (1941)           

Miss Shumway Waves a Wand    (1944)           

Just the Way It Is    (1944)           

Eve      (1945)           

I’ll Get You for This (1946)           

Blonde’s Requiem   (1946)           

Make the Corpse Walk      (1946)           

More Deadly Than the Male        (1946)           

No Business of Mine          (1947)           

The Flesh of the Orchid     (1948)           

Trusted Like the Fox           (1948)           

You Never Know with Women     (1949)           

The Paw in the Bottle        (1949)           

Mallory          (1950)           

Strictly for Cash       (1951)           

But a Short Time to Live    (1951)           

In a Vain Shadow    (1951)           

Why Pick On Me?   (1951)           

The Fast Buck          (1952)           

The Wary Transgressor     (1952)           

I’ll Bury My Dead     (1953)           

This Way for a Shroud       (1953)           

The Things Men Do (1953)           

Safer Dead    (1954)           

Tiger by the Tail       (1954)           

Mission to Venice   (1954)           

The Sucker Punch   (1954)           

You’ve Got It Coming         (1955)           

Mission to Siena      (1955)           

You Find Him, I’ll Fix Him   (1956)           

The Guilty Are Afraid          (1957)           

Not Safe to Be Free            (1958)           

Hit and Run  (1958)           

The World in My Pocket    (1959)           

Come Easy, Go Easy           (1960)           

What’s Better Than Money?        (1960)           

Just Another Sucker           (1961)           

A Lotus for Miss Quon       (1961)           

A Coffin from Hong Kong  (1962)           

I Would Rather Stay Poor (1962)           

One Bright Summer Morning      (1963)           

Cade   (1966)           

The Vulture Is a Patient Bird        (1969)           

Like a Hole in the Head      (1970)           

Want to Stay Alive?            (1971)           

Just a Matter of Time         (1972)           

You’re Dead Without Money       (1972)           

Have a Change of Scene    (1973)           

Knock, Knock! Who’s There?       (1973)           

Three of Spades      (1974)           

So What Happens to Me? (1974)           

Goldfish Have No Hiding Place    (1974)           

Believe This, You’ll Believe Anything      (1975)           

Do Me a Favour, Drop Dead         (1976)           

Meet Mark Girland (1977)           

My Laugh Comes Last        (1977)           

Consider Yourself Dead     (1978)           

You Must Be Kidding          (1979)           

A Can of Worms      (1979)           

You Can Say That Again     (1980)           

Try This One for Size           (1980)           

Hand Me a Fig Leaf (1981)           

Have a Nice Night   (1982)           

We’ll Share a Double Funeral       (1982)           

Not My Thing           (1983)           

Hit Them Where It Hurts   (1984)


Slipstream: A Royal Air Force Anthology           (1946)

Omnibus Books

Double Shuffle / Shock Treatment / Tell it to the Birds         (1974)           

Meet Helga Rolfe    (1984)           

Come Easy, Go Easy / Cade / My Laugh Comes Last  (1993)

List of books by James Hadley Chase

So there you have a list of books and date of publication from the Author James Hadley Chase.If we missed any be sure to let us know in comments of via theContact Us.

Dave Peterson

Dave Peterson Passion for adventure and sharing his life long journey with as many others as possible. "What lies behind us and what lies before us are tiny matters compared to what lies within us." HENRY S. HASKINS

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *