J.R.R. Tolkien Body of Works – Oeuvre

List of books by J.R.R. Tolkien

List of Books J.R.R. Tolkien with Publication Dates

Authors, who doesn’t love a good Author? This series of articles we look at lists of books by famous authors; in this case, J.R.R. Tolkien. Find my selection in date order of J.R.R. Tolkien books.

J.R.R. Tolkien List of Books to Read

Lord Of The Rings Books

The Hobbit    (1937)           

The Fellowship of the Ring           (1954)           

The Two Towers      (1954)           

The Return of the King      (1955)           

History Of Middle-Earth Collections

The Book of Lost Tales       (1983)           

The Book of Lost Tales: Part Two            (1984)           

The Lays of Beleriand         (1985)           

The Shaping of Middle-Earth       (1987)           

The Lost Road and Other Writings         (1987)           

History Of The Lord Of The Rings Collections

The Return of the Shadow            (1988)           

The Treason of Isengard    (1989)           

The War of the Ring           (1990)           

Sauron Defeated     (1992)           

Later Silmarillion Collections

Morgoth’s Ring: The Legends of Aman  (1993)           

The War of the Jewels: The Legends of Beleriand       (1994)           

Standalone Novels

Farmer Giles of Ham          (1949)           

Roverandom            (1998)           

The Children of Hurin         (2007)           

The Legend of Sigurd and Gudrun          (2009)           

The Story of Kullervo          (2015)           

Beren and Luthien  (2017)           

The Lay of Aotrou and Itroun       (2017)           

The Fall of Goldolin (2018)           

Short Stories

Smith of Wootton Major  (1964)           

Short Story Collections

The Silmarillion        (1937)           

The Adventures of Tom Bombadil          (1962)           

The Tolkien Reader (1964)           

Tree and Leaf           (1964)           

The Father Christmas Letters       (1976)           

Poems and Stories  (1980)           

Unfinished Tales of Numenor and Middle-Earth         (1980)           

Tales from the Perilous Realm     (1993)           

The Peoples of Middle-Earth        (1996)           

The Fall of Arthur    (2013)           

Picture Books

Mr. Bliss        (1937)           

Bilbo’s Last Song     (1974)           

Oliphaunt      (1989)           

Non-Fiction Books

A Middle English Reader and Vocabulary         (1922)           

The Letters of J.R.R. Tolkien         (1981)           

Finn and Hengest: The Fragment and the Episode     (1983)           

The Monsters and the Critics: The Essays of J.R.R. Tolkien   (1983)                                                                                   

List of books by J.R.R. Tolkien

So there you have a list of books and date of publication from the Author J.R.R. Tolkien.

Dave Peterson

Dave Peterson Passion for adventure and sharing his life long journey with as many others as possible. "What lies behind us and what lies before us are tiny matters compared to what lies within us." HENRY S. HASKINS

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *