Ian Rankin Body of Works – Oeuvre

List of books by Ian Rankin

List of Books Ian Rankin with Publication Dates

Authors, who doesn’t love a good Author? This series of articles we look at lists of books by famous authors; in this case, Ian Rankin. Find my selection in date order of Ian Rankin books.

Ian Rankin List of Books to Read

Inspector Rebus Books

Knots and Crosses  (1987)           

Hide and Seek          (1991)           

Tooth and Nail         (1992)           

Strip Jack       (1992)           

The Black Book        (1993)           

Mortal Causes         (1994)           

Let It Bleed   (1995)           

Black and Blue         (1997)           

The Hanging Garden          (1998)           

Dead Souls    (1999)           

Set in Darkness        (2000)           

The Falls        (2001)           

Resurrection Man   (2002)           

A Question of Blood           (2003)           

Fleshmarket Alley   (2004)           

The Naming of the Dead   (2006)           

Exit Music     (2007)           

Standing in Another Man’s Grave           (2012)           

Saints of the Shadow Bible           (2014)           

Even Dogs in the Wild        (2016)           

Rather Be The Devil            (2017)           

In A House of Lies   (2018)           

Inspector Rebus Short Stories

Death is Not the End          (1998)           

Inspector Rebus Collections

A Good Hanging and Other Stories        (1992)           


Inspector Rebus Plays

Long Shadows         (2019)           

Jack Harvey Books

Witch Hunt   (1993)           

Bleeding Hearts       (1994)           

Blood Hunt   (1995)           

Malcolm Fox Books

The Complaints       (2009)           

The Impossible Dead          (2011)           

Standalone Novels

The Flood      (1986)           

Watchman   (1988)           

Westwind     (1990)           

Doors Open  (2008)           

Short Stories

A Cool Head  (2009)           

The Travelling Companion            (2016)           

Meet and Greet      (2016)           

Short Story Collections

Herbert in Motion and Other Stories     (1997)           

Beggars Banquet    (2002)           

The Complete Short Stories         (2005)           

One City        (2006)           

Crimespotting          (2009)           

Ox-Tales: Earth        (2009)           

Graphic Novels

Dark Entries  (2009)           

Standalone Plays

Dark Road     (2014)           

Non-Fiction Books

Rebus’ Scotland      (2004)                                   

List of books by Ian Rankin

So there you have a list of books and date of publication from the Author Ian Rankin.

Dave Peterson

Dave Peterson Passion for adventure and sharing his life long journey with as many others as possible. "What lies behind us and what lies before us are tiny matters compared to what lies within us." HENRY S. HASKINS

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *