George Orwell Body of Works – Oeuvre

List of books by George Orwell

List of Books George Orwell with Publication Dates

Authors, who doesn’t love a good Author? This series of articles we look at lists of books by famous authors; in this case, George Orwell. Find my selection in date order of George Orwell books.

George Orwell List of Books to Read

Standalone Novels

Burmese Days          (1934)           

A Clergyman’s Daughter    (1935)           

Keep The Aspidistra Flying            (1936)           

Coming up for Air    (1939)           

Animal Farm (1945)           

Nineteen Eighty-Four         (1949)           

Non-Fiction Books

Down and Out in Paris and London        (1933)           

The Road to Wigan Pier    (1937)           

Homage to Catalonia         (1938)           

Dickens, Dali and Others   (1946)           

Shooting an Elephant        (1950)           

British Pamphleteers         (1951)           

Critical Essays          (1951)           

England, your England, and other essays          (1953)           

Selected Essays aka Inside the Whale and Other Essays       (1957)           

Selected Writings   (1958)           

The Collected Essays          (1961)           

The Lion and the Unicorn (1962)           

Decline of the English Murder and Other Essays         (1965)           

As I Please, 1943-1945      (1968)           

A Collection of Essays        (1970)           

Age Like This 1920-1940   (1971)           

In Front of Your Nose, 1945-1950          (1971)           

My Country Right or Left 1940-1943     (1980)           

English People         (1982)           

The Penguin Essays of George Orwell    (1984)           

The War Broadcasts           (1985)           

Orwell: The Lost Writings (1985)           

The War Commentaries    (1985)           

Orwell: The War Commentaries  (1986)           

Selected Prose         (1991)           

The Sayings of George Orwell      (1994)           

Pages from a Scullion’s Diary       (1995)           

All Propaganda Is Lies: 1941-1942         (1999)           

Facing Unpleasant Facts   (1999)           

I Belong to the Left: 1945 (1999)           

I Have Tried to Tell the Truth: 1943-44 (1999)           

It Is What I Think, 1947-48           (1999)           

Keeping Our Little Corner Clean: 1942-1943   (1999)           

A Kind of Compulsion, 1903-1936          (1999)           

Our Job Is to Make Life Worth Living     (1999)           

A Patriot After All, 1940-1941     (1999)           

Smothered Under Journalism: 1946      (1999)           

Two Wasted Years: 1943  (1999)           

Orwell and Politics  (2001)           

Orwell and the Dispossessed       (2001)           

Orwell in Spain        (2001)           

Orwell’s England     (2001)           

Orwell: The ‘Observer’ Years        (2003)           

Why I Write  (2004)           

Illuminations: Great Writers on Writing           (2004)           

Orwell in Tribune    (2008)           

Books V. Cigarettes            (2008)           

All Art Is Propaganda         (2008)           

On Books      (2009)           

Orwell: A Celebration         (2009)           

Narrative Essays      (2009)           

Diaries           (2009)           

Such, Such Were the Joys and Other Essays    (2010)           

A Life in Letters       (2010)           

Orwell on Truth       (2017)           

Notes on Nationalism        (2018)           

Orwell on Freedom (2018)

List of books by George Orwell

So there you have a list of books and date of publication from the Author George Orwell.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *