Gene Wolfe Body of Works – Oeuvre

List of books by Gene Wolfe

List of Books Gene Wolfe with Publication Dates

Authors, who doesn’t love a good Author? This series of articles we look at lists of books by famous authors; in this case, Gene Wolfe. Find my selection in date order ofGene Wolfe books.

Gene Wolfe List of Books to Read

Urth: Book of the New Sun Books

The Shadow of the Torturer         (1980)           

The Claw of the Conciliator          (1980)           

The Sword of the Lictor     (1982)           

The Citadel of the Autarch            (1982)           

The Urth of the New Sun  (1987)           

Soldier Of The Mist Books

The Soldier of the Mist      (1986)           

The Soldier of Arete           (1989)           

Soldier of Sidon       (2006)           

Urth: Book of the Long Sun Books

Nightside the Long Sun     (1993)           

Lake of the Long Sun          (1994)           

Calde of the Long Sun        (1994)           

Exodus from the Long Sun            (1996)           

Urth: Book of the Short Sun Books

On Blue’s Waters    (1999)           

In Green’s Jungles   (2000)           

Return to the Whorl          (2001)           

Wizard Knight Books

The Knight    (2004)           

The Wizard   (2004)           

Standalone Novels

Operation Ares        (1970)           

Peace (1975)           

The Devil in a Forest           (1976)           

Free Live Free          (1984)           

There Are Doors      (1988)           

Castleview    (1990)           

Pandora by Holly Hollander          (1990)           

Pirate Freedom       (2007)           

An Evil Guest            (2008)           

The Sorcerer’s House         (2010)           

Home Fires   (2011)           

The Land Across      (2013)           

A Borrowed Man    (2015)           

Short Stories

Memorare    (2008)           

Short Story Collections

The Fifth Head of Cerberus           (1972)           

In the Wake of Man: A Science Fiction Triad   (1975)           

The Island of Doctor Death and Other Stories (1980)           

Bibliomen     (1984)           

Plan(e)t Engineering           (1984)           

Gene Wolfe’s Book of Days          (1985)           

For Rosemary          (1988)           

Storeys from the Old Hotel           (1988)           

Endangered Species           (1989)           

Castle of Days          (1992)           

Young Wolfe            (1992)           

Strange Travelers    (2000)           

Innocents Aboard: New Fantasy Stories           (2004)           

Starwater Strains    (2005)           

The Very Best of Gene Wolfe: A Definitive Retrospective of His Finest Short Fiction           (2009)           

Non-Fiction Books

The Castle of the Otter      (1982)           

Letters Home           (1991)           

A Walking Tour of the Shambles (2002)           

Gate of Horn, Book of Silk: A Guide to Gene Wolfe’s The Book of the Long Sun and The Book of the Short Sun    (2012)           

List of books by Gene Wolfe

So there you have a list of books and date of publication from the Author Gene Wolfe.

Dave Peterson

Dave Peterson Passion for adventure and sharing his life long journey with as many others as possible. "What lies behind us and what lies before us are tiny matters compared to what lies within us." HENRY S. HASKINS

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *