Evelyn Waugh Body of Works – Oeuvre

List of books by Evelyn Waugh

List of Books Evelyn Waugh with Publication Dates

Authors, who doesn’t love a good Author? This series of articles we look at lists of books by famous authors; in this case, Evelyn Waugh. Find my selection in date order of Evelyn Waugh.

Evelyn Waugh List of Books to Read

Sword of Honour Books

Men at Arms                     (1952) 

Officers and Gentlemen (1955) 

Unconditional Surrender aka The End of the Battle   (1961)           

Standalone Novels

Decline and Fall                (1928) 

Vile Bodies                         (1930) 

Black Mischief                   (1932) 

A Handful of Dust             (1934) 

Scoop                                  (1938) 

Put Out More Flags         (1943) 

Brideshead Revisited       (1945) 

The Loved One                  (1948) 

Helena                                (1950) 

The Holy Places                 (1952) 

Love Among the Ruins    (1953) 

Tactical Exercise aka The Wish    (1954)           

Basil Seal Rides Again      (1963) 

Collections Books

Mr. Loveday’s Little Outing          (1936)           

Work Suspended              (1943) 

The Ordeal of Gilbert Pinfold       (1957)           

Selected Works                (1977) 

Charles Ryder’s Schooldays          (1982)           

The Complete Short Stories         (1997)           

The Complete Stories of Evelyn Waugh (1998)           


On Guard                           (1998) 

Non-Fiction Books


Labels                                  (1930) 

Remote People                 (1930) 

Ninety-Two Days              (1934) 

Saint Edmund Campion  (1935) 

Waugh in Abyssinia         (1936) 

Robbery Under Law         (1939) 

When the Going Was Good         (1946)           

The Life of Ronald Knox  (1959) 

The Life of the Right Reverend Ronald Knox    (1959)           

A Tourist in Africa            (1960) 

A Little Learning               (1964) 

Rossetti                              (1975) 

The Diaries of Evelyn Waugh        (1976)           

A Little Order                    (1977) 

Letters of Evelyn Waugh   (1980)           

The Essays, Articles and Reviews of Evelyn Waugh    (1984)           

Mr. Wu and Mrs. Stitch (1991) 

The Letters of Evelyn Waugh and Diana Cooper         (1992)           

The Sayings of Evelyn Waugh      (1996)           

The Letters of Nancy Mitford and Evelyn Waugh       (1996)           

The Letters of Nancy Mitford and Evelyn Waugh       (2001)           

Two Lives: Edmund Campion: Scholar, Priest, Hero and Martyr AND Life of Ronald Knox                      (2002) 

Waugh Abroad                 (2003) 

The Coronation of Haile Selassie (2005)           

List of books by Evelyn Waugh

So there you have a list of books and date of publication from the Author Evelyn Waugh.

Dave Peterson

Dave Peterson Passion for adventure and sharing his life long journey with as many others as possible. "What lies behind us and what lies before us are tiny matters compared to what lies within us." HENRY S. HASKINS

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *