Edgar Rice Burroughs Body of Works – Oeuvre

List of books by Edgar Rice Burroughs

List of Books Edgar Rice Burroughs with Publication Dates

Authors, who doesn’t love a good Author? This series of articles we look at lists of books by famous authors; in this case, Edgar Rice Burroughs. Find my selection in date order of Edgar Rice Burroughs books.

Edgar Rice Burroughs List of Books to Read

Tarzan Books

Tarzan of the Apes  (1912)           

The Return of Tarzan         (1913)           

The Beasts of Tarzan          (1914)           

The Son of Tarzan   (1914)           

Tarzan and the Jewels of Opar     (1916)           

Jungle Tales of Tarzan        (1919)           

Tarzan the Untamed          (1920)           

Tarzan the Terrible (1921)           

Tarzan and the Golden Lion         (1922)           

Tarzan and the Ant Men   (1924)           

Tarzan, Lord of the Jungle (1927)           

Tarzan and the Lost Empire          (1928)           

Tarzan at the Earth’s Core            (1929)           

Tarzan the Invincible          (1930)           

Tarzan Triumphant (1931)           

Tarzan and the City of Gold          (1932)           

Tarzan and the Lion Man  (1933)           

Tarzan and the Leopard Men       (1935)           

Tarzan’s Quest         (1935)           

Tarzan and the Forbidden City    (1938)           

Tarzan the Magnificent     (1939)           

Tarzan and the Foreign Legion    (1947)           

Tarzan and the Madman   (1964)           

Tarzan and the Castaways            (1965)           

The Lost Adventure            (1995)           

John Carter Of Mars Books

A Princess of Mars  (1917)           

The Gods of Mars   (1918)           

The Warlord of Mars         (1919)           

Thuvia, Maid of Mars         (1920)           

The Chessmen of Mars      (1922)           

The Master Mind of Mars (1927)           

A Fighting Man of Mars    (1930)           

Swords of Mars       (1934)           

Synthetic Men of Mars      (1938)           

John Carter of Mars           (1941)           

Llana of Gathol        (1948)           

John Carter Of Mars Books

Chronologically, Llana of Gathol comes before John Carter of Mars.

Mucker Books

The Oakdale Affair  (1917)           

The Mucker  (1921)           

The Return of the Mucker            (1921)           

Mucker Books

The Mucker  (1921)           

The Return of the Mucker            (1921)           

The Oakdale Affair  (1917)           

Caspak Trilogy Books

The Land That Time Forgot          (1924)           

The People That Time Forgot       (1918)           

Out of Time’s Abyss            (1918)           

Pellucidar Books

At the Earth’s Core (1922)           

Pellucidar      (1923)           

Tanar of Pellucidar (1929)           

Tarzan at the Earth’s Core            (1930)           

Back to the Stone Age       (1937)           

Savage Pellucidar    (1941)           

Land of Terror          (1944)           

Pellucidar Books

When reading this series in chronological order, switch Savage Pellucidar and Land of Terror around.

Moon Books

The Moon Maid      (1923)           

The Moon Men       (1926)           

The Red Hawk          (1926)           

Venus Books

Lost on Venus          (1933)           

Pirates of Venus      (1934)           

Carson of Venus      (1937)           

Escape on Venus     (1946)           

The Wizard of Venus          (1970)           

Venus Books

Pirates of Venus comes before Lost on Venus in chronological order.

Standalone Novels

Beyond Thirty          (1915)           

The Girl From Farris’s         (1916)           

The Efficiency Expert          (1921)           

The Girl From Hollywood  (1922)           

Marcia of the Doorstep     (1924)           

The Cave Girl            (1925)           

The Eternal Lover    (1925)           

The Bandit of Hell’s Bend  (1926)           

The Mad King           (1926)           

The Outlaw of Torn (1927)           

The War Chief          (1927)           

The Monster Men   (1929)           

The Land of Hidden Men   (1932)           

Apache Devil            (1933)           

The Resurrection of Jimber-Jaw  (1937)           

The Rider      (1937)           

The Lad and the Lion          (1938)           

The Deputy Sheriff of Commanche County      (1940)           

Beyond the Farthest Star  (1941)           

The Man Eater         (1955)           

I Am a Barbarian     (1967)           

Pirate Blood (1970)           

Short Story Collections

Tales of Three Planets        (1964)           


You Lucky Girl          (1999)           

Non-Fiction Books

Brother Men            (2005)

List of books by Edgar Rice Burroughs

So there you have a list of books and date of publication from the AuthorEdgar Rice Burroughs.

Dave Peterson

Dave Peterson Passion for adventure and sharing his life long journey with as many others as possible. "What lies behind us and what lies before us are tiny matters compared to what lies within us." HENRY S. HASKINS

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *