Charles Willeford Body of Works – Oeuvre

List of books by Charles Willeford

List of Books by Charles Willeford with Publication Dates

Authors, who doesn’t love a good Author? This series of articles we look at lists of books by famous authors; in this case, Charles Willeford. Find my selection in date order of Charles Willeford books.

Charles Willeford List of Books to Read

Hoke Moseley Books

Miami Blues        (1984)   

New Hope for the Dead  (1985)   

Sideswipe            (1987)   

The Way We Die Now     (1988)   

Standalone Novels

High Priest of California  (1953)   

Pick Up  (1954)   

Wild Wives          (1956)   

The Black Mass of Brother Springer aka Honey Gal              (1958)   

Lust Is a Woman aka Made in Miami         (1958)   

The Woman Chaser         (1960)   

Deliver Me from Dallas (as by W Franklin Sanders) aka The Whip Hand         (1961)   

Understudy for Death aka Understudy for Love     (1961)   

Cockfighter         (1962)   

No Experience Necessary              (1962)   

The Burnt Orange Heresy              (1971)   

The Hombre From Sonora (as by Will Charles) aka The Difference  (1971)   

Kiss Your Ass Goodbye    (1987)   

The Shark Infested Custard           (1993)   


The Machine in Ward Eleven        (1963)   

Everybody’s Metamorphosis         (1988)   

Crime Novels: American Noir of the 1950 (with David Goodis, Patricia Highsmith, Chester Himes, Robert Polito and Jim Thompson)               (1997)   

The Second Half of the Double Feature     (2003)   

Poontang (poems)            (2011)   

Plays Books

The Ordainment of Brother Springer          (2009)   

Short Stories/Novellas

The Old Man at the Bridge            (2009)   

Strange (2011)   

Sentences            (2013)   

Non Fiction Books

Off the Wall        (1980)   

Something About a Soldier            (1986)   

New Forms of Ugly          (1987)   

I Was Looking for a Street             (1988)   

Cockfighter Journal          (1989)   

The Collected Memoirs of Charles Willeford          (2000)   

Writing and Other Blood Sports   (2000)   

List of books by Charles Willeford

So there you have a list of books and date of publication from the Author Charles Willeford.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *