Allan Massie Body of Works – Oeuvre

List of books by Allan Massie


List of Books Allan Massie with Publication Dates

Authors, who doesn’t love a good Author? This series of articles we look at lists of books by famous authors; in this case, Allan Massie. Find my selection in date order of Allan Massie.

Allan Massie List of Books to Read

Imperial Books

Augustus       (1986)           

Tiberius         (1991)           

Caesar            (1993)           

Question Of Loyalties Books

A Question of Loyalties     (1989)           

The Sins of the Father        (1991)           

Shadows of Empire (1997)           


Dark Ages Books

The Evening of the World (1999)           

Arthur the King        (2003)           

Charlemagne and Roland  (2007)

Bordeaux Books

Death in Bordeaux  (2010)           

Dark Summer in Bordeaux            (2012)           

Cold Winter in Bordeaux   (2014)           

End Games in Bordeaux    (2015)

Standalone Novels

Change and Decay in All Around I See   (1978)           

The Last Peacock    (1980)           

Ill Met by Gaslight: Five Edinburgh Murders    (1981)           

The Death of Men   (1981)           

One Night in Winter           (1984)           

Let the Emperor Speak: A Novel of Caesar Augustus (1987)           

The Hanging Tree    (1990)           

These Enchanted Woods  (1993)           

The Ragged Lion      (1994)           

King David     (1995)           

Antony           (1997)           

Nero’s Heirs  (1999)           

Caligula          (2003)           

The Thistle and the Rose   (2005)           

Surviving       (2009)           

Non-Fiction Books

Muriel Spark (1979)           

The Caesars  (1983)           

Portrait of Scottish Rugby            (1984)           

Colette           (1986)           

101 Great Scots      (1987)           

Byron’s Travels        (1988)           

Glasgow        (1989)           

The Novel Today, 1970-89           (1990)           

Edinburgh     (1994)           

Eric Linklater: A Critical Biography          (1999)           

History of Edinburgh          (1999)           

Scottish Cultural Identity  (2006)           

The Royal Stuarts    (2010)           

Life & Letters: The Spectator Columns  (2013)

List of books by Allan Massie

So there you have a list of books and date of publication from the Author Allan Massie.

Dave Peterson

Dave Peterson Passion for adventure and sharing his life long journey with as many others as possible. "What lies behind us and what lies before us are tiny matters compared to what lies within us." HENRY S. HASKINS

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *