Alice Walker Body of Works – Oeuvre

List of books by Alice Walker

List of Books Alice Walker with Publication Dates

Authors, who doesn’t love a good Author? This series of articles we look at lists of books by famous authors; in this case, Alice Walker. Find my selection in date order of Alice Walker.

Alice WalkerList of Books to Read

Color Purple Books

The Color Purple     (1982)           

The Temple of My Familiar           (1989)           

Possessing the Secret of Joy         (1992)

Standalone Novels

The Third Life of Grange Copeland         (1970)           

Meridian       (1976)           

Finding the Green Stone   (1991)           

By the Light of My Father’s Smile           (1998)           

Now Is the Time to Open Your Heart     (2004)


Revolutionary Petunias     (1973)           

In Love and Trouble            (1973)           

Once  (1976)           

Good Night, Willie Lee, I’ll See You in the Morning    (1979)           

You Can’t Keep a Good Woman Down  (1981)           

Horses Make a Landscape Look More Beautiful         (1984)           

Alice Walker Poetry            (1985)           

Her Blue Body Everything We Know      (1991)           

Everyday Use           (1992)           

Giving Birth, Finding Form            (1993)           

Quartet of Stories   (1993)           

The Complete Stories         (1994)           

The Way Forward Is with a Broken Heart         (2000)           

Absolute Trust in the Goodness of the Earth   (2003)           

A Poem Traveled Down My Arm (2003)           

Collected Poems     (2005)           

Hard Times Require Furious Dancing     (2010)           

The World Will Follow Joy (2013)           

Collected Essays, Prose, and Stories      (2018)           

Taking the Arrow out of the Heart          (2018)

Picture Books

To Hell with Dying   (1988)

Non-Fiction Books

Life of Thomas Lodge         (1974)           

In Search of Our Mother’s Garden         (1984)           

Art Against Apartheid Works for Freedom       (1986)           

Langston Hughes    (1987)           

Living By the Word (1988)           

Warrior Marks         (1993)           

The Same River Twice        (1996)           

Banned          (1996)           

Anything We Love Can Be Saved (1997)           

Go Girl!         (1997)           

Pema Chodron and Alice Walker in Conversation       (1999)           

Sent By Earth           (2001)           

There Is a Flower at the Tip of My Nose Smelling Me            (2006)           

We Are The Ones We Have Been Waiting For (2006)           

Why War Is Never a Good Idea   (2007)           

Overcoming Speechlessness        (2010)           

World Has Changed           (2010)           

In Search of Our Mother’s Gardens       (2011)           

The Chicken Chronicles      (2011)           

The Cushion in the Road   (2013)           

My Life as My Self   (2015)           

Gathering Blossoms Under Fire  (2018)

List of books by Alice Walker

So there you have a list of books and date of publication from the Author Alice Walker.

Dave Peterson

Dave Peterson Passion for adventure and sharing his life long journey with as many others as possible. "What lies behind us and what lies before us are tiny matters compared to what lies within us." HENRY S. HASKINS

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *