Alexander McCall Smith Body of Works – Oeuvre

List of books by Alexander McCall Smith

List of Books Alexander McCall Smith with Publication Dates

Authors, who doesn’t love a good Author? This series of articles we look at lists of books by famous authors; in this case, Alexander McCall Smith. Find my selection in date order of Alexander McCall Smith.

Alexander McCall Smith List of Books to Read

No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency Books

The No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency        (1999)           

Tears of the Giraffe            (2000)           

Morality for Beautiful Girls           (2001)           

The Kalahari Typing School for Men       (2002)           

The Full Cupboard of Life  (2003)           

In the Company of Cheerful Ladies         (2004)           

Blue Shoes and Happiness            (2006)           

The Good Husband of Zebra Drive          (2007)           

The Miracle at Speedy Motors    (2008)           

Tea Time for the Traditionally Built        (2009)           

The Double Comfort Safari Club  (2010)           

The Saturday Big Tent Wedding Party   (2011)           

The Limpopo Academy of Private Detection    (2012)           

The Minor Adjustment Beauty Salon     (2013)           

Handsome Man’s Deluxe Cafe     (2014)           

The Woman Who Walked in Sunshine  (2015)           

Precious and Grace            (2016)           

The House of Unexpected Sisters           (2017)           

The Colors of All The Cattle          (2018)           

No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency Collections

The Cleverness of Ladies   (2012)

Professor Dr. Von Igelfeld Entertainment Books

Portuguese Irregular Verbs          (2003)           

The Finer Points of Sausage Dogs           (2003)           

At the Villa of Reduced Circumstances  (2003)           

Unusual Uses for Olive Oil (2011)           

Isabel Dalhousie Books

The Sunday Philosophy Club        (2004)           

Friends, Lovers, Chocolate           (2005)           

The Right Attitude to Rain            (2006)           

The Careful Use of Compliments (2007)           

The Comfort of Saturdays (2008)           

The Lost Art of Gratitude  (2009)           

The Charming Quirks of Others   (2010)           

The Forgotten Affairs of Youth    (2011)           

The Uncommon Appeal of Clouds          (2012)           

The Novel Habits of Happiness    (2015)           

A Distant View of Everything        (2017)           

The Quiet Side of Passion (2018)

Isabel Dalhousie Short Stories

The Perils of Morning Coffee       (2011)           

At the Reunion Buffet        (2015)           

Sweet, Thoughtful Valentine       (2016)

44 Scotland Street Books

44 Scotland Street  (2005)           

Espresso Tales         (2005)           

Love Over Scotland (2006)           

The World According to Bertie    (2007)           

The Unbearable Lightness of Scones     (2008)           

The Importance of Being Seven  (2010)           

Bertie Plays the Blues        (2011)           

Sunshine on Scotland Street        (2012)           

Bertie’s Guide to Life and Mothers        (2012)           

The Revolving Door of Life            (2015)           

The Bertie Project   (2016)           

A Time of Love and Tartan            (2017)           

The Peppermint Tea Chronicles   (2019)

Myths Books

Dream Angus: The Celtic God of Dreams          (2006)

Corduroy Mansions Books

Cordurory Mansions          (2009)           

The Dog Who Came in From the Cold    (2009)           

A Conspiracy of Friends     (2011)

School Ship Tobermory Books

School Ship Tobermory     (2015)           

The Sands of Shark Island (2016)           

The Race to Kangaroo Cliff           (2019)

Paul Stuart Books

My Italian Bulldozer           (2016)           

The Second Worst Restaurant in France          (2019)

Detective Varg Books

The Department of Sensitive Crimes      (2019)

Detective Varg Short Stories/Novellas

The Strange Case of the Moderate Extremists            (2019)

Standalone Novels


La’s Orchestra Saves the World  (2008)           

No Rest for the Dead         (2011)           

The Forever Girl      (2014)           

Fatty O’Leary’s Dinner Party        (2014)           

Hari and His Electric Feet  (2017)           

The Good Pilot, Peter Woodhouse         (2017)

Akimbo Children’s Books

Akimbo and the Lions        (1992)           

Akimbo and the Crocodile Man   (1993)           

Akimbo and the Elephants            (2005)           

Akimbo and the Snakes     (2006)           

Akimbo and the Baboons  (2008)

Harriet Bean Children’s Books

The Five Lost Aunts of Harriet Bean       (1990)           

Harriet Bean and the League of Cheats (1991)           

The Cowgirl Aunt of Harriet Bean           (2006)

Max & Maddy Children’s Books


Bursting Balloons Mystery           (1997)           

Chocolate Money Mystery           (1999)           

Precious Ramotswe Children’s Books

Precious and the Monkeys           (2010)           

Precious and the Mystery of Meerkat Hill        (2012)           

The Great Cake Mystery    (2012)           

Precious and the Mystery of the Missing Lion (2013)           

Precious and the Zebra Necklace            (2015)           

Precious Ramotswe Children’s Books

The Great Cake Mystery tells the story of Precious Ramotswe’s first case.

Standalone Children’s Books

The White Hippo     (1980)           

The Perfect Hamburger     (1984)           

Alix and the Tigers  (1988)           

The Tin Dog  (1990)           

Calculator Annie      (1991)           

The Popcorn Pirates           (1991)           

The Doughnut Ring (1992)           

Paddy and the Ratcatcher            (1994)           

The Muscle Machine          (1995)           

The Bubblegum Tree          (1996)           

Teacher Trouble      (2000)           

Short Story Collections

Heavenly Date and Other Flirtations      (1995)           

Trouble at the North Pole and Other Stories   (1996)           

The Girl Who Married a Lion and Other Tales from Africa    (2004)           

One City        (2006)           

Ox-Tales: Air (2009)           

The Book That Changed My Life  (2010)           

What You Wish For: A Book for Darfur (2011)           

Imagined Lives: Portraits of Unknown People (2011)           

Trains and Lovers    (2012)


Children of Wax: African Folk Tales        (1989)

Non-Fiction Books

Better Than Fiction: True Travel Tales From Great Fiction Writers            (2012)           

What W.H. Auden Can Do For You         (2013)           

Who Built Scotland            (2017)

List of books by Alexander McCall Smith

So there you have a list of books and date of publication from the Author Alexander McCall Smith.

Dave Peterson

Dave Peterson Passion for adventure and sharing his life long journey with as many others as possible. "What lies behind us and what lies before us are tiny matters compared to what lies within us." HENRY S. HASKINS

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *