Photo By Luke Webber license CC2.0
The history of the Cataract Gorge:
This site has an interesting history. The Cataract Gorge was firstly discovered by a European visitor, William Collins. He discovered this entrance in the year 1804. Interestingly, this gorge also entertains another pathway addressed as the King Bridge –Cataract Walk. Originally, it was built by the volunteers in the early 1890s. This pathway runs along the north bank of the gorge. The flood water of the Cataract Gorge could rise high up to 12 meters in the beginning. The gorge also used to entertain a suspension bridge and a power station. Unfortunately, the bridge was washed away in the floods.
Explore the beautiful gorge:
You can make the most out of various activities provided by the Cataract Gorge. There is a First Basin on the southern most part of the gorge which comprises of a swimming pool as well as a café. This pool is surrounded by extensive greenery and bushlands. The locals address this place as Launceston’s Beach. Apart from this, the Cataract Gorge also comprises of restaurant,rolling lawns, a chairlift across the river, a footbridge as well as peacocks that can be viewed at the dusk. This place is the most alluring reserve of Australia.
Take time to see some of Tasmania’s history visit: